Report on the 2018 Annual Meeting

annual meeting header


On behalf of the Board of Directors, it was our pleasure and honor to welcome many of you to the 2018 Annual Meeting of the The Arc of Northern Virginia.


The Annual Meeting is our opportunity to come together and recognize great achievements, dedicated volunteers and celebrate another year’s accomplishments. Come celebrate the accomplishments of the last year alongside other members and friends of The Arc of Northern Virginia. This is a great opportunity to learn more about what we do, who we are, and why we care about serving individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families.



State of The Arc of Northern Virginiachristine

Board President Christine Plummer delivered the State of The Arc of Northern Virginia address.


Read the President’s State of The Arc of Northern Virginia address





State of The Arc of Northern Virginia Financesmatt

Board Treasurer Matt Evans reported on the health of the chapter’s finances.


Read the Treasurer’s financial report









Awards Presentationssue

One of the highlights of the year is the presentation these two prestigious awards:

◊ The 2018 Jessica Burmester Volunteer Award was presented to Sue Haenisch.


◊ Sharon Cummings was announced as the winner of The 2018 Rusty Garth “You Are the Change” Advocacy Award.  Unable to attend the annual meeting, Sharon’s award will be presented at a future date.




Business Meeting

During this portion of the evening, as members of The Arc of Northern Virginia, voted to approve changes to the Bylaws of The Arc of Northern Virginia.


Read the proposed changes to the Bylaws


Attendees also voted to elect the members of the Board of Directors and Officers for 2019.


View the elected slate of candidates


Special Guests:  Panel of Virginia State Legislatorsdelegates

At this year’s annual meeting we were proud to present a panel of Virginia Legislators elected to serve the constituents of Northern Virginia.  Participating in our panel were Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn, Delegate Patrick Hope, Delegate Marcus Simon, and State Senator Barbara Favola.